This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Charrua, Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil)

Last modified: 2020-07-14 by ian macdonald
Keywords: rio grande do sul | charrua |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Charrua, RS (Brazil) image by Ivan Sache, 14 July 2020

See also:


The municipality of Charrua (3,471 inhabitants in 2010; 19,812 ha) is located 400 km of Porto Alegre.

Charrua was settled in the early 20th century by German and Italian colonists. Established a 7 September, the place was first known as Vila Sete de Setmbro, as a district of Passo Fundo, subsequently transferred to Getúlio Vargas, and, in the 1950s, to Tapejara. As a tribute to the Caingangue who once lived in the area, the town was renamed to Charrua, a Tupi-Guarani [rather, Portuguese!] word meaning "a plow". After a plebiscite organized on 10 November 1991, the municipality of Charrua was established by State Law No. 9,617 promulgated on 20 March 1992, and inaugurated on 1 January 1993.
Municipal website

Ivan Sache, 14 July 2020

Description of the Flag

The flag of Charrua is diagonally divided green-white by a yellow-red-blue bend sinister, charged in the center with the municipal coat of arms inscribed in a white oval.


Ivan Sache, 14 July 2020