This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Pinhais, Paraná (Brazil)

Last modified: 2012-03-03 by ian macdonald
Keywords: parana | pinhais |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Pinhais, PR (Brazil)] image by Dirk Schönberger, 10 September 2011
See also:

About the Flag

Divided diagonally per bend, green-white-blue, with a central yellow stripe in the white bend, in the centre a white disk bearing the municipal arms.

Official website at
Dirk Schönberger, 10 September 2011

The municipality of Pinhais (117,166 inhabitants in 2010; 61 sq. km, that is the smallest municipality in Paraná by its area) is located in the Curitiba Metropolitan Area, 10 km from Curitiba. Pinhais was established in 1992, seceding from Piraquara, and is therefore one of the two youngest municipalities in Paraná.

The symbols of Pinhais were designed by Douglas Macarthur de Oliveira Boechat. The flag is made of 14 units on 20 units. The two right-angle triangles are separated by a white diagonal stripe of 3 units in height, charged with a yellow stripe of 1 unit in height. In the middle is a white disk, symbolizing infinity, charged with the municipal coat of arms, representing the municipal government. [The diameter of the disk and the size of the coat of arms are not given.]

The coat of arms of Pinhais is made of a Portuguese shield, "Per fess wavy, 1. Azure a rising sun or three araucarias proper, 2a. Argent a fleur-de-lis or, 2b. Vert a cogwheel argent." In chief, the sun has five straight rays, lighting the araucarias that make the arms canting (the araucarias are locally called "pinheiros", "pines"). The sun means unity, truth, majesty, abundance and richness, representing a new era for the municipality and its inhabitants. The fleur-de-lis represents the patron saint of the municipality, Our Lady of Good Hope. The 12-cogged wheel represents industry, the main source of income in the municipality. A blue scroll placed beneath the shield is inscribed with the name of the municipality and the date of publication of the Law that established it, "20-03-1992".

Ivan Sache, 21 February 2012