This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Holsbeek (Municipality, Province of Flemish Brabant, Belgium)

Last modified: 2019-07-30 by ivan sache
Keywords: holsbeek | fleurs-de-lis: 3 (yellow) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Holsbeek]

Municipal flag of Holsbeek - Image by Arnaud Leroy, 22 June 2006

See also:

Presentation of Holsbeek

The municipality of Holsbeek (9,395 inhabitants on 1 January 2007; 3,850 ha), located between Leuven and Aarschot, is known as "Leuven's Green Oasis". The municipality of Holsbeek is made since 1976 of the former municipalities of Holsbeek, Kortrijk-Dutsel, Nieuwrode and Sint-Pieters-Rode.

Located in Sint-Pieters-Rode, the castle of Horst was originally built in the XIIIth century as a "water fort" (waterbucht); the square donjon was added in the late XVth century.

Ivan Sache, 22 June 2006

Municipal flag of Holsbeek

The municipal flag of Holsbeek is vertically divided blue-red-green with three yellow fleurs-de-lis couped placed 2 and 1 in the red stripe.
According to Gemeentewapens in België - Vlaanderen en Brussel, the flag and arms were adopted by the Municipal Council on 10 December 1987, confirmed by the Executive of Flanders on 1 March 1988 and published in the Belgian official gazette on 16 September 1988.
Blue and red come from the coat of arms, whereas green recalls the landscaped character of the municipality. The central stripe shows the third quarter of the municipal coat of arms, which is the former coat of arms of Nieuwrode.

As shown on the municipal website, the complicated coat of arms of Holsbeek is:
"Quarterly, 1. azure a saint holding in dexter a shining staff surrounded by two crosses all or, 2. gules a saint Peter holding a key upwards in dexter flanked sinister by a a crozier all or, 3. gules three fleurs-de-lis couped or placed two and one, 4. azure a saint Martin and the poor all or, an escutcheon [...] in sinister.
It can be guessed that the four quarters represent the four former municipalities. The second quarter logically represents Sint-Pieters-Roode while the third quarter represents Nieuwrode as said above.

Ivan Sache, 22 June 2006