This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Municipalities in Styria (Austria)

Gemeinden in der Steiermark

Last modified: 2016-01-02 by rob raeside
Keywords: municipality: austria | styria | steiermark |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

As I had learned from the Styrian State Archives, Styrian municipalities do not have their own municipal colours (like for instance those in Upper Austria, Lower Austria or Tyrol), but usually use the Styrian colours with their municipal arms for a flag. However, this has to be ascertained in detail with each and every Styrian municipality.
M. Schmöger, 7 April 2005

I see that the number of municipalities will undergo a much larger reduction to (now planned) 288 municipalities (which is comparable to the number in Tyrol). In my calculations and reports I had only included those where the legal procedures have been finished up to now. The larger plan, however, is outlined at

There you can find a list of the municipalities and their mergers:

An overview with some statistical material and graphics:

And finally the draft bill for a Gemeindestrukturreformgesetz that will regulate all this:

However, as far as I can see, the draft bill is still in the legislative process, so there might as well be some changes. The major issue, as far as I can see, is that many municipalities have "voluntarily" approved their merger, but not all. And this might pose not only practical, but also legal problems, at least in the longer run.
M. Schmöger, 28 March 2014


See also: