This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Subdivisions of Salta Province (Argentina)

Last modified: 2018-10-17 by francisco gregoric
Keywords: salta | provincia de salta | metan | san jose de metan | oran | san ramón de la nueva orán |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Subdivisions of Salta Province (About) :
  • Anta Department
  • Cachi Department
  • Cafayate Department
  • Capital Department
  • Cerrillos Department
  • Chicoana Department
  • General Güemes Department
  • General José de San Martín Department
  • Guachipas Department
  • Iruya Department
  • La Caldera Department
  • La Canderlaria Department
  • La Poma Department
  • La Viña Department
  • de Los Andes Department
  • Metán Department
  • Orán Department
  • Rivadavia Department
  • Rosario de la Frontera Department
  • Rosario de Lerma Department
  • San Carlos Department
  • Santa Victoria Department
See also:

About Salta Province subdivisions

The Province of Salta is administratively divided in 23 departments. These departments are represented in the provincial flag. Inside the departments there are municipalities of three kinds: 1a. Clase (First Class), 2a. Clase (Second Class) and Comisiones Municipales.
Francisco Gregoric, 21 Oct 2014

Metán Department

San José de Metán Municipality

[Metan municipal flag]
image by Jaume Ollé i Casals, 21 Feb 2012

The municipality of San José de Metán (locally known as Metán ; 27,453 inhabitants in 2001) is located in the south of the Salta Province.

The flag of San José de Metán, of recent origin, expresses the local historical origins, traditions, idiosyncrasy and culture. The flag is quartered by a white cross skewed to the hoist, the first quarter crimson red with two vertical black stripes framing a lily flower surrounded by two laurel branches, the second and third quarters golden yellow, the fourth quarter celeste blue.

The lily flower represents the Catholic faith, as the flower raised in his hands by St. Joseph, the patron saint of the town.

The two laurel branches, a symbol of victory, recall the historical meeting of Colonel José de San Martín and General Manuel Belgrano in Yatasto, a place located on the municipal territory of San José de Metán. During the Argentine War of Independence, generals commanding the Army of the North made handovers of command in Yatasto estate, proclaimed a National Monument in 1942. On 26 May 1812, Juan Martín de Pueyrredón gave there the command to Manuel Belgrano, who gave the command to José de San Martín on 17 January 1814.

The crimson red color recalls the provincial flag of Salta and the ponchos worn by the natives and the gauchos, including the national hero Martín Miguel Güemes.

The two vertical black stripes recall the railway inaugurated in the town on 13 June 1886; they also represent the tradition and character of the region.

The golden yellow quarters symbolize honey, after which the word "Metán" was coined by the Spaniards- from the Lule word "mep", "honey". Golden yellow also represents the soil fertility and the man's work, synthetized into wheat, maize and other grain spikes. The colour also recalls the sun from the national flag and the stars from the Salta flag.

The celeste blue quarter recalls the national flag and the sky reflecting on the waters of the rivers.

The white cross uses a color from the national flag, meaning purity and peace. The flag contest's jury added that the white vertical and horizontal stripes form a Latin cross.
Ivan Sache, 5 Oct 2010

Other sites:

Orán Department

San Ramón de la Nueva Orán Municipality

[Oran municipal flag]
image by Ivan Sache, 19 May 2017

The municipality of San Ramón de la Nueva Orán, usually known as Orán (82,413 inhabitants in 2010, therefore the second most populated municipality in the province) is located in the north of the Salta Province, 30 km south of the border with Bolivia.

San Ramón de la Nueva Orán was founded on 31 August 1794 by Ramón García de León y Pizarro (1745-1815), Governor of the Salta Province (1789-1796). The founder named the town for a Catalan Mercedarian monk, St. Raymond Nonnatus (1204-1240, canonized in 1657 by Pope Alexander VII), celebrated the 31 August, and for the town of Oran - in today's Algeria -, where he was born on 31 August 1745.

The flag of Orán is vertically divided celestial blue-white-green with an emblem representative of the town in the middle. The vertical stripes are separated by a thin orange-yellow fimbriation. The flag, selected among 20 proposals in a public contest. was designed by Ceferino Zárate, President of the Tinkunak community. The flag was inaugurated on 31 August 2016.

Celestial blue represents the limpid sky over Orán. White is a symbol of purity and of the feeling of the inhabitants, incorporating the industrial, sociological and cultural processes. Green represents the vegetation and the jungle characteristic of the area. Yellow is the colour of the sun, which could not have been omitted.

The central emblem incorporates, within a black circle, a pot, a tree, a sun, mountains, and a jaguar. Beneath, two laurel boughs represent triumph.

Ivan Sache, 19 May 2017

Anything below this line was not added by the editor of this page.