This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Penama Province (Vanuatu)

Last modified: 2013-04-20 by ian macdonald
Keywords: vanuatu | penama | boars tusks |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Penama Province (Vanuatu)] image by Jens Pattke, 24 February 2013

See also:

Description of the Flag

Penama is a province of Vanuatu, occupying the islands of Ambae, Maewo, and Pentecost. The name PenAMa is derived from the initial letters of Pentecost, Ambae (Aoba) and Maewo.

Around the year 2006, adopted a neutral flag, which did not contain symbols of both former district flags (Ambae-Maewo District and Pentecost District). The new flag of the Penama Province is divided horizontally red-light blue-black-light blue-green (5:2:2:2:5). This flag had a white canton, with a boar's tusk, surrounded by a wreath of leaves of the namele fern. In the upper red stripe is a yellow five-pointed star, in the lower green stripe are two yellow five-pointed stars.
Jens Pattke, 23 May 2010, 24 February 2013

Former flag of Penama

[Penama Province (Vanuatu)] image by Jens Pattke, 28 June 2006

The Penama Province (former District of Ambae-Maewo and District of Pentecost) flag is vertically divided approximately 1-3-1, blue with three vertically arranged white stars on the left, green on the right. The central part is horizontally divided 1-1-1 red-yellow-black with a white boar's tusk and pin and two crossed wheat ears in the centre.

Source: Michel Lupant; Gaceta de Banderas no. 110
Jens Pattke, 28 June 2006