This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Yauco (Puerto Rico)

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by rob raeside
Keywords: puerto rico | yauco | coffee | sugar cane |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

by Blas Delgado Ortiz, 14 December 2004

See also:


Yauco is on the southwest coast of Puerto Rico and was founded 29 February 1756; there are 42,058 Yaucanos. Nickname Pueblo del Cafe'.
Jarig Bakker , 6 Febuary 2000

According to a letter received from the mayor of the City of Yauco, Puerto Rico on April 18, 2001, the correct and actual Flag of this Municipality consist of two horizontal bands with the Coat-of-Arms centered in the middle of the flag. The superior band is black and simbolises the color of the coffee. The inferior yellow band simbolises the color of the Sugar Cane. Yauco is known as the "City of the Coffee" (La Ciudad del Cafe).
Juan Colon de Jesus, 28 April 2001

The town of Yauco was named "city" on 1 January 2004, by the federal government after a request by the PR Legislature and the PR Institute of Culture. Its new Coat of Arms should have a five-towered mural crown. Because its flag has the shield in a center position, it will also change accordingly.
Blas Delgado Ortiz, 14 December 2004

Previous Flag

by Blas Delgado Ortiz, 21 November 2004

Reported Flag (Previous?)

by Blas Delgado

Yauco - The flag is quartered in cross, 1st and 4th in black, 2nd and 3rd in yellow. The city shield appears over the 1st black quarter. A coffee bough without its fruits appears over the 2nd yellow quarter. Yellow stands for sugar cane, and black for coffee, the main produce of Yauco; they are also the sporting colors of Yauco.
Blas Delgado Ortiz, 17 April 2001

Coat of Arms

by Nelson Román, 14 December 2004

Previous Coat of Arms

by Nelson Román, 16 June 2004