This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Abcoude (The Netherlands)

Utrecht province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: abcoude |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

No flag-image available

See also:

Abcoude municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2002): 8520; area: 3.211 ha. It consist of Abcoude (seat), Baambrugge, Donkervliet and Stokkelaarsbrug.
Abcoude was first mentioned in 1085 in a charter of Koenraad, bishop of Utrecht, as "Abecenwalde". On the border between the county of Holland and the bishopric of Utrecht was the castle of Abcoude. That is first mentioned in 1274, when it was destroyed by Gijsbrecht van Amstel, the neighbour from Holland. Later the castle was rebuilt. The foundations have completely disappeared but are still recognizable in contours in the landscape.
Source: the municipal website.
Jarig Bakker, 10 May 2003

Abcoude Coat of Arms

[Abcoude coat of arms] by Jarig Bakker, 19 Sep 2004

In 1941 the municipalities of Abcoude-Proosdij en Aasdom and Abcoude-Baambrugge were merged to form the present municipality of Abcoude. The municipal arms is composed out of the Coat of Arms's of the former municipalities and were officially granted by Royal Resolution on 3 Aug 1948 by Queen Juliana.
The arms of Abcoude-Baambrugge consisted of a shield with three columns on red and were related to the former Lords of Abcoude from the van Zuilen-family. The Coat of Arms of Abcoude-Proosdij en Aasdom consisted of a shield with two crossed keys in silver on blue. That image is probably derived from the St. Peter chapter, of which that municipality was part of. The key may also refer to the presence of a "rechthuis". where law was spoken, as the key was a symbol of power or trust.
Source: the municipal website.
Jarig Bakker, 10 May 2003