This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Maldives: Political flags

Last modified: 2019-10-28 by ivan sache
Keywords: political party | parliament |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


Flag         Flag

Flag of the Parliament, current and former versions - Images by Olivier Touzeau, 10 May 2007

The first flag of the Majlis, designed at the beginning of the 1980s, reflects the strong Islamization drive of the ruling elite at that time. The white disk is inscribed with a verse from the Koran in bold black Thuluth Arabic lettering. This flag was a typical product of those years, when the Maldive government was promoting Islam with vehemence and intensity.
The flag was changed when a new building was built for the Majlis in 1999. The new flag did away with the Arabic lettering.
[Maldives Royal Family website]

Olivier Touzeau, 10 May 2007


Members of Parliament's flag (reconstruction) - Image by Željko Heimer, 30 September 2002

Crampton (1990) [cra90f] describes the flag of the Members of the Parliament as "a green pennant with a white crescent and star".

Željko Heimer, 30 September 2002

Department of Judicial Administration


Flag of the Maldives Judiciary - Image by Ian MacDonald, 20 January 2019

The Maldives Judiciary has their own flag (photo, photo, photo, photo, photo).

Frezzer Learner, 14 January 2019

Elections Commission

The Elections Commission (EC; website) of Maldives was established on 7 August 2008 as an independent and impartial institution to conduct and supervise all state elections and public referendums as well as to monitor the regulatory framework pertaining to the functioning of political parties. Under the Elections Commission Act (2008) 5 members are appointed by the president for a 5 year term with approval by People's Majlis (Parliament).
Prior to the establishment of the transitional Elections Commission on 6 September 2008 as stated in Article 276 of the 2008 Constitution of the Republic of Maldives, elections were formerly coordinated by the Commissioner of Elections office which had first functioned under the Ministry of Home Affairs, and later under the purview of the Presidentís Office. The then Commissioner of Elections, was appointed by the President. The Commissioner of Elections was answerable to the President only and could only be removed from office by the President.

The need for an independent Elections Commission was recognized during 2004 when a series of reforms were introduced to strengthen democracy in the country. One of the key aspects of these reforms was to modernize the electoral system, ensuring that elections were conducted in a free, fair and transparent manner, and develop a functioning multi-party system in the Maldives.
Subsequently, under the 2008 Constitution of the Republic of Maldives, the Elections Commission was established as an independent and impartial institution, that will function in accordance with the Constitution and laws enacted by the People's Majlis and the statue governing the responsibilities, powers and mandate of the Elections Commission.

The flag of the EC (photo, photo, photo, photo) is purple with the commission's emblem, counter-colored, surrounded by a ring with writing.


Former flag of the EC - Image by Ivan Sache, 5 August 2019

The former flag of the EC (photo, photo, photo, photo, photo, photo, photo, photo), used until 2018, was white with the commission's former emblem.

Ivan Sache, 5 August 2019

Political parties

The Parliament unanimously voted for the creation of a multiparty system on 2 June 2005. Prior to this ruling, political parties were not allowed under the Maldivian legal system.

The first registered parties were:
- the Maldivian People's Party (DRP)
- the Islamic Democratic Party (IDP)
- the Justice Party (AP)
- the Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP)

The Elections Commission currently recognizes six registered parties:
- the Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) - 21 June 2005;
- the Maldivian People's Party (DRP) - 21 July 2005;
- the
Justice Party - 18 August 2005;
- the Republican Party - 3 August 2008;
- the Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) - 17 October 2011:
- the Maldives Development Alliance (MDA) - 20 December 2012.

Olivier Touzeau & Ivan Sache, 5 August 2019