This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Eshkol (Israel)

Mo'atza Ezorit Eshkol, Regional Council of Eshkol

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: eshkol | regional council | mo'atza ezorit eshkol | hevel ma'on | text: hebrew (black) | wheat ear (black) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Regional Council of Eshkol (Israel)]
image by Dov Gutterman | 2:3
Emblem adopted 16th April 1959

See also:


Regional Council Eshkol is situated in north west Negev desert, was founded in 1951 as Hevel Ma'on and changed its name in 1969 and named after the third Prime Minister of Israel Levy Eshkol. The Regional Council unites 29 settlements with 11,000 inh.
The Regional Council sent me a real flag, blue with a black emblem, and the official who sent it said the original emblem was brown-white, and nowadays it appears as white on green on official papers. The municipal emblem was published in the official gazette (Rashumot), YP 663, 16 April 1959, for the then Regional Council Hevel Ma'on. It includes an ear of wheat, furrels and a piece of barbed wire.
Sources: letter from the Regional Council, Regional Council flag sample, emblem and this webpage.
Dov Gutterman, 12 September 2001

Regional Council Eshkol govern 29 settlements (14 Kibbutz's: Urim, Be'eri, Re'eim. Kisufim, Ein HaShlosha, Nirin, Nir-Oz, Magen, Nir-Yitzhak, Sufa, Holit, Kerem-Shalom, Gvolot and Tze'elim. 13 Moshav's: Ohad, Sde-Nitzan, Talme-Elihu, Ami'oz, Mivta'him, Yesha, Talme-Yosef, Pri Gan, Dekel, Yated, Sde-Avraham, Yevul and Ein HaBsor, and two communities: Avshalom and Tzo'har).
Unfortunately, the official site has no information about symbols.
Dov Gutterman, 9 April 2005