This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

University of Zagreb (Croatia): Academies

Last modified: 2015-05-14 by ivan sache
Keywords: university of zagreb |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Academies at the University of Zagreb

The three art academies of the University of Zagreb are in all mostly equal in status to the faculties. They deal mostly with artistic high education, unlike the faculties, which deal mostly with scientific high education.

Željko Heimer, 8 September 2014

Academy of Dramatic Art


Emblem of the Academy of Dramatic Art - Image by Željko Heimer, 8 September 2014

The Croatian Dramatic College (Hrvatska dramatska škola) was established in 1896, followed by a line of name changes to State Actors School (Državna glumačka škola) in 1920, Actors School (Glumačka škola) in 1939, Land Actors School (Zemaljska glumačka škola) in 1945, Academy of Theatre Art (Akademija za kazališnu umjetnost) in 1950, Academy of Theatre and Film Arts (Akademija kazališne i filmske umjetnosti) in 1967, Academy for Theatre, Film and Television (Akademija za kazalište, film i televiziju) in 1977, to the current name, becoming a constituent unit of the University in 1979.

Article 3 of the Academy Statutes, Statut Akademije dramskih umjetnosti (Pročišćeni tekst), last amended on 30 November 2011 (text), prescribes the emblem as depicting the gates of the Kolo building, the seat of the Academy, and year "1896" beneath it.

Željko Heimer, 8 September 2014

Academy of Fine Arts

[Flag]         [Arms]

Flag and emblem of the Academy of Fine Arts - Images by Željko Heimer, 20 September 2014

Established in 1907 as the Royal Land Arts and Crafts College (Kraljevsko zemaljsko više obrazovalište za umjetnost i umjetni obrt), since 1918 the Royal Arts and Crafts School (Kraljevska škola za umjetnost i umjetni obrt) and since known as the Royal Arts and Crafts Academy (Kraljevska akademija za umjetnost i obrt), the Royal Academy of Fine Arts (Kraljevska akademija za umjetnost, Kraljevska umjetnička akademija), the State Academy of Fine Arts (Državna umjetnička akademija) and since 1941 uder the current name.

The Academy Statutes, Statut Akademije likovnih umjetnosti, last amended on 21 October 2010 (text), do not prescribe any emblem.
The Academy uses the initials "aLu" in two rows as its emblem.
The flag (photo) is in proportions 3:1, blue with the white initials set at an angle and the full University and Academy names inscribed vertically above it.

Željko Heimer & Marko Vitez, 20 September 2014

Academy of Music


Emblem of the Academy of Music - Image by Željko Heimer, 8 September 2014

The oldest music school was established in Zagreb in 1829 as the Zagreb Music Union Note School (Tonschule des Agramer Musikvereines). In 1916 it becomes a conservatory (Konzervatorij Hrvatskog zemaljskog glazbenog zavoda) and, in 1921, a Royal Conservatory, and then, in 1922, the Royal Academy of Music (Kraljevska muzička akademija). In 1951 it became the Zagreb Academy of Music (Muzička akademija u Zagrebu), which was incorporated in the University in 1979.

The Academy Statutes, Statut Muzičke akademije, last amended on 12 October 2005 (text), do not prescribe any emblem.
The Academy uses an emblem in the shape of a circular seal depicting a sheet music inscribed around it with the Academy and the town name.

Željko Heimer, 8 September 2014