This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Santa María del Cubillo (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2020-02-17 by ivan sache
Keywords: santa maría del cubillo |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Presentation of Santa María del Cubillo

The municipality of Santa María del Cubillo (349 inhabitants in 2009; 6,500 ha) is located in the east of Ávila Province, on the border with Segovia Province, 25 km of Ávila.
The municipality, named for the Santa María del Cubillo chapel, was formed in 1975 by the merging of the two former municipalities of Aldeavieja (administrative seat) and Blascoeles, prescribed by Decree No. 2,027, issued on 24 July 1975 by the Spanish Government and published on 2 September 1975 in the Spanish official gazette, No. 210, p. 18,590 (text).

Ivan Sache, 10 January 2011

Symbols of Santa María del Cubillo

The flag and arms of Santa María del Cubillo are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 15 April 2003 by the Municipal Council, signed on 12 May 2003 by the Mayor, and published on 23 May 2003 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 97, p. 7,638 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Rectangular flag with proportions 2:3, horizontally divided into two equal stripes embattled of two pieces, the upper stripe blue with a twelve-pointed white star in the middle, the lower stripe red.
Coat of arms: Per fess, 1. Azure twelve five-pointed stars in orle in the middle the Virgin monogram, all argent, 2. Gules the numeral "1975" argent per pale surrounded dexter and sinister by a spike or. The shield surmounted with a Royal crown closed.

Ivan Sache, 10 January 2011