This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Hoyos del Espino (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2015-01-17 by ivan sache
Keywords: hoyos del espino | ávila |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Presentation of Hoyos del Espino

The municipality of Hoyos del Espino (469 inhabitants in 2009; 5,200 ha; 1,075 m a.s.l.; municipal website) is located in the southwest of Ávila Province, 70 km of Ávila.

Hoyos del Espino was part of the domain of Valdecorneja until the suppression of the feudal system. The village is named for the Marian sanctuary of Our Lady of the Thorn (Santuario Mariana de Nuestra Señora del Espino), built at the end of the 15th century in local Gothic style. The Virgin of the Thorn is a statue of Romanesque style, dating probably from the 15th century.
In 1911 locals founded the Gredo-Tormes society, aimed at the development of tourism in the Sierra de Gredos mountains; the society was supported by Manuel G. De Amezua, founder of Club Alpino Español, and presided by King Alfonso XIII.

Ivan Sache, 13 December 2010

Symbols of Hoyos del Espino

The flag and arms of Hoyos del Espino are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 30 June 2005 by the Municipal Council, signed on 5 July 2005 by the Mayor, and published on 21 July 2005 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 141, pp. 13,113-13,114 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Rectangular flag, with proportions 2:3, tierced and serrated at hoist. At fly, a yellow (or or) a green (or vert) pine over a mountain range argent (or white); tierced at hoist, red (or gules) three disks yellow (or or) per pale.
Coat of arms: Shield of Spanish shape. Or, a pine vert on a mountain range argent all over in base two fesses wavy azure a chief gules three bezants or. The shield surmounted by the Royal Spanish crown.

Ivan Sache, 13 December 2010