This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Muisne Canton (Ecuador)

Cantón de Muisne, Provincia de Esmeraldas

Last modified: 2021-02-13 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: muisne | stars(9) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Muisne cantonal flag (Ecuador)] image by Ivan Sache, 8 Feb 2021
See also:

Introduction of Muisne Canton

Muisne (126,510 ha) is located in the south-west of Esmeraldas province, 90 km of Esmeraldas and 375 km of Quito.
Muisne means "plenty" in Chachi language. Muisne was established on 4 July 1861 as a parish depending on canton Esmeraldas and elevated to a canton on 3 October 1956, then composed of the capital and of four parishes: San Francisco del Cabo, San Gregorio, Bolívar and Chamanga. A fifth parish, Galera, was established on 5 October 1957, Subsequently, another three parishes were added: Quingue (or Olmedo Perdomo Franco), Daule and Sálima.
Source: Muisne Tourism Department webpage
Ivan Sache, 8 Feb 2021


The flag of Muisne is horizontally divided blue-green with a big white star in the centre, surmounted by another eight smaller stars arranged in a semi-circular pattern. The stars represent, beyond reasonable doubt, the town of Muisne and the eight parishes that compose the canton.
Source:Muisne Tourism Department webpage
Ivan Sache, 8 Feb 2021

back to Esmeraldas Province click here