This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Oberhausen-Rheinhausen Municipality (Germany)

Gemeinde Oberhausen-Rheinhausen, Landkreis Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg

Last modified: 2018-11-10 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: oberhausen-rheinhausen | parted per pale | demi-cross(faceted) | demi-wheel(bladed) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Oberhausen-Rheinhausen municipal banner] image by Klaus-Michael Schneider, 5 Nov 2018 See also:

Oberhausen-Rheinhausen Municipality

Oberhausen-Rheinhausen Banner

It is a white-blue vertical bicolour. The coat of arms is shifted to the top.
Source: here
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 5 Nov 2018

Oberhausen-Rheinhausen Coat of Arms

Shield parted per pale, at dexter Azure, a throughout faceted demi cross Argent, couped per pale, at sinister Or a sinister 8-spokes bladed demi-wheel Sable, also couped per pale.
Oberhausen and Rheinhausen had been one municipality, named Oberhausen, until 1810. They belonged to the Bishopric of Speyer until 1802. The charges of the common arms were taken from a court seal from the 18th century. It displayed twice in a quartered shield a cross, representing St. Philipp, patron saint of the Oberhausen church; and a wheel, representing St. Catherine, patron saint of the Rheinhausen church. The cross is also stressing that the municipality belonged to the Bishopric of Speyer. Rheinhausen had been separated from Oberhausen in 1810, got its own parish church, dedicated to St. Lawrence, in 1877, but the parochial separation happened in 1905. It was again incorporated into Oberhausen in 1975.
Source: Landeskundliches Informationssystem Baden-Württemberg
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 5 Nov 2018

The arms had been adopted by Oberhausen in 1900, and were re-adopted by Oberhausen-Rheinhausen in 1975. The banner was used by Oberhausen since 1935.
Source: Stefan Schwoon's database
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 5 Nov 2018

back to Karlsruhe cities and municipalities click here