This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Curitiba, Paraná (Brazil)

Last modified: 2022-03-05 by ian macdonald
Keywords: brazil | parana | curitiba |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of 
Curitiba, PR (Brazil)] image by Joseph McMillan
Image from the municipal website

See also:

About the Flag of Curitiba

The municipality of Curitiba (1,963,726 inhabitants in 2021, therefore Brazil's 8th most populated municipality; 43,504 ha) is the capital of Paraná.

Curitiba was established in 29 March 1693, as Nossa Senhora da Luz dos Pinhais, by Captain Matheus Martins Leme. The town was renamed to Curitiba in 1721 by ouvador (~ ombudsman) Raphael Pires Pardinho, who initiated concern for natural environment for which the town is still renowned. For instance, he restricted tree cutting to delimited areas; people were asked to clean river Bélem to prevent flooding of the church square. He also imposed that houses could not be erected without permission from the Municipal Chamber and had to be roofed with tiles, and uniform urban planning based on the first roads.
Ignored by the Captaincy of São Paulo, Curitiba subsequently experienced extreme poverty. The establishment of the tropeiro's road connecting Viamão to São Paulo and Minas Gerais allowed the town to blossom again in the early 19th century. Curitiba was made in 1853 the capital of the newly established state of Paraná.
Curitiba is named for a Tupi-Guarani word, "kur yt yba", "a pinewood".
Municipal website

The flag and arms of Curitiba are prescribed by Municipal Law No. 2,993 promulgated on 11 May 1967.

Article 6.
The municipal flag shall be divided in eight green trapezoidal quarters formed by eight red stripes superimposed with white stripes, arranged two by two in the horizontal and vertical dimensions, per bend and per bend sinister starting from a central white rectangle charged with the coat of arms.
The coat of arms in the flag's center symbolizes the municipal government, while the rectangle on which it is applied represents the town proper, as the seat of the municipality. The stripes symbolize the spread of the municipal power to all the parts of the territory, while the trapezoidal quarters represent the rural properties existing in the municipal territory.

Article 7.
In compliance with heraldic rules, the flag shall have the official dimensions prescribed for the national flag, 9 units in width on 13 units in length.

Article 19.
The coat of arms of the municipality of Curitiba shall be a classical Flemish-Iberian shield surmounted by a mural crown that classifies a 1st rank town (capital), only five of them visible in perspective view, represented or. Gules a Brazilian pine sable. The shield supported dexter by a wheat plant proper and sinister by a grapevine all proper, crossed in base and superimposed with a scroll gules inscribed argent "29 March 1693", the town's foundation date.
In compliance with heraldry, the coat of arms shall be 7 units in length on 8 units in width.
Leis Municipais database

This Law abrogated Municipal Law No. 2,138 promulgated on 2 May 1962.

Article 1.
a) The flag is composed of a green quadrilateral charged in the center with a white sphere inscribing the coat of arms.
b) The shield shall have a red field, representing clay that predominates in Curitiba's soil, charged with a Brazilian pine, the municipality's typical tree. The shield is surmounted by a castle representing the town of Curitiba. The shield is supported by two wheat and grapevine branches, representing Curitiba's main crops. The scroll uniting the two supporters beneath the shield is inscribed with the town's foundation date, "29 March 1693".
Leis Municipais database

The first flag, arms and seals of Curitiba were re-established by Municipal Law No. 3 promulgated in 1948.

Article 1.
The symbols of the municipality of Curitiba, valid until 10 November 1937, are re-established.
Leis Municipais database

The new Constitution promulgated on 10 November 1937 in the aftermath of the 1930 Revolution abolished the coat of arms of the Brazilian states and municipalities. The next Constitution, promulgated in September 1946, re-established them. Several towns re-adopted their original arms.


Ivan Sache, 1 February 2022