This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Subdivisions of Tierra del Fuego Province (Argentina)

Last modified: 2020-07-26 by francisco gregoric
Keywords: tierra del fuego | provincia de tierra del fuego | rio grande |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Subdivisions of Tierra del Fuego Province (About) : See also:

About Tierra del Fuego Province subdivisions

There are just three municipalities in the Argentine Provincia de Tierra del Fuego, Antártida e Islas del Atlántico Sur. These are: Río Grande, Tolhuin and Ushuaia. These municipalities have coats of arms. There are not any Argentine official subdivision flags or coat of arms for the Antártida (Antarctica) or any of the Islas del Atlántico Sur (South Atlantic Islands).
Francisco Gregoric, 22 Jan 2015

Río Grande Municipality

The municipal Constituant Assembly decided that the only municipal symbol of Rio Grande should be the coat of arms actually used and designed in 1958 by the artist Venus Videla. This shall be the only symbol allowed on municipal paper. This was decided after a meeting with Carlos Baldassare, historian and director of the municipal museum "Virginia Choquintel", Miguel Ángel Castro, director of the protocole for the Deliberative Council and Mauricio Turdó, coordinator of the protocole and ceremonies for the municipality of Rio Grande. The meeting was conveyed by the ARI bloc of the Constituant Assembly in order to amend the descriptions of the symbols of the municipality in the future organic chart.

Baldassare explained that the coat of arms was adopted following a contest organized by the Promotion Commission, which existed before Rio Grande became a municipality. Regarding the municipal flag [designed in a flag contest in 1995-1996], the members of the protocole of the Deliberative Council said that its colours and design "do not represent either the town or its inhabitants"; they were supported by the member of the Assembly Rosa Weiss Jurado, who said that there was "only one flag, the National Flag which is the symbol of our country."

Ivan Sache, 18 Oct 2006

Anything below this line was not added by the editor of this page.