This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Subdivisions of Neuquén Province (Argentina)

Last modified: 2020-07-26 by francisco gregoric
Keywords: neuquén | provincia del neuquén |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Subdivisions of Neuquén Province (About) :
  • Aluminé Department
  • Añelo Department
  • Catán Lil Department
  • Chos Malal Department
  • Collón Curá Department
  • Confluencia Department
  • Huiliches Department
  • Lácar Department
  • Loncopué Department
  • Los Lagos Department
  • Minas Department
  • Ñorquín Department
  • Pehuenches Department
  • Picún Leufú Department
  • Picunches Department
  • Zapala Department
See also:

About Neuquén Province subdivisions

The Province of Neuquén is administratively divided in 16 departments. Inside the departments there are municipalities of two kinds: Municipios and Comisiones de Fomento.
Francisco Gregoric, 21 Oct 2014

Confluencia Department

Neuquén Municipality

[Neuquen City municipal flag]
image by Jens Pattke, 21 Aug 2010

The town of Neuquén (often called Neuquén Capital; 201,868 inhabitants in 2001) is the capital of the Neuquén Province and the biggest town in Patagonia.

As reported by "Noticias Online", the municipal administration of Neuquén has launched a flag contest entitled "Una Bandera para mi Ciudad" (A Flag for my Town). The contest, patroned by the YPF Foundation and the Magic Casino, is open to everyone living in Neuquén for at least 10 years and at least 18-year old. The deadline for proposal submission is 2 July 2010.

Ivan Sache, 29 Apr 2010

The result of the contest was proclaimed on 18 August 2010. The winner is the plastician Carlos Alberto Juárez, living in Neuquén since 1981, whose proposal was selected among 75 entries shortlisted to 10. The flag has yet to be officialized by a Municipal Decree and is expected to be hoisted for the first time on 12 September on the Flags' Square (Plaza de las Banderas) of Neuquén.

The flag is celeste blue with two white curved stripes representing the confluency of rivers Limay and Neuquén, where the town was founded. The shape of the undulating waves symbolizes liberty, dynamism and change.

Ivan Sache, 20 Aug 2010

The flag was officially unveiled and hoisted for the first time on 12 September 2010, during the celebration of the 106th anniversary of the town.

Ivan Sache, 17 Sep 2010

Other sites:

Anything below this line was not added by the editor of this page.