This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nueve de Julio District (Buenos Aires Province, Argentina)

Partido de Nueve de Julio

Last modified: 2020-07-26 by francisco gregoric
Keywords: nueve de julio | partido de nueve de julio |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Nueve de Julio]
image by António Martins, 08 Dec 2004
See also:

About the district

The Partido de Nueve de Julio is located at center-north of the province of Buenos Aires, at 329 Km from the city of La Plata, capital of the province. It is 4,284 Km² and it had a total population of 45,998 inhabitants in the last census (2001).

The district’s name recalls July 9th, 1816, the date when Argentine Independence was proclaimed by the Congress of Tucumán.

This district was created by provincial law in 1865.
Francisco Gregoric, 10 Apr 2008

Other sites:

Description of the flag

Its flag consist of blue background charged with its emblem.
Dov Gutterman, 18 Feb 2002

Information translated from a 9 de Julio website (dead link).

  • In a single field of intense blue, it represents the immensity of our sky.
  • The Sun is represented, like a creative fact.
  • The arched saber, represents Colonel Julio de Vedia, in its participation in the foundation.
  • The 24 stars, represent the brotherhood between the 24 towns of the district, surrounding the year of their birth.
  • The three lagoons, represent the origin of the primitive Cla Lauquen.
  • The wheat ear, represents our main agricultural wealth, and the wheel to our industry.
  • Finally, the laurel — symbol of Glory — recognizes those that laid the foundations of the mighty and laborious Party of 9 de Julio of today.
Blas Delgado, 04 Jul 2002

It is left unsaid that the white geometrical shape is the geographic outline of the department (35°30'S 61°W), pointing north, as seen f.i. at
António Martins, 08 Dec 2004

Anything below this line was not added by the editor of this page.