This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Angers (Municipality, Maine-et-Loire, France)

Last modified: 2017-03-29 by ivan sache
Keywords: angers |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors



[Flag]

Flag of Angers - Image by Ivan Sache, 24 April 2001


See also:


Presentation of Angers

The municipality of Angers (151,056 inhabitants in 2014; 4,270 ha)) is the préfecture of the departement of Maine-et-Loire and of Region Pays de la Loire, and the capital city of the former Duchy of Anjou.

Angers is famous for its fortified castle, built by Blanche de Castille and her son Louis IX (St. Louis) in 1231. The castle has 17 massive towers of 40-50 m high, and the total length of its walls exceeds one kilometer. The castle is now a museum and houses beautiful tapestries from 14th (Apocalypse tapestry) to 17th (Penthesilea tapestry) centuries.
The former St. John hospital houses a collection of modern tapestries (The Song of the World) by Jean Lurçat (1892-1966).

Ivan Sache, 24 April 2001


Municipal flag of Angers

The flag of Angers is hoisted in front of the Town Hall, along with the flags of France, European Union, and Anjou (two rows of flags).

The flag is vertically divided red-blue with the coat of arms of the city in the middle.
The coat of arms has a red field charged with a vertical silver key, and a blue chief charged with two golden fleur-de-lys.
On the flag, there is a white fimbriation around the coat of arms. The shade of the field of the coat of arms is slightly lighter than the shade of the red half of the flag.

Municipal privilege and chief of France for the blason were granted to the town by King Louis XI, nephew of René, last Duke of Anjou.

The image shown above was made using the municipal blason from the GASO website. On the real flags, the key looks slightly different, with three 'teeth' instead of two and a heart-shaped base.

Ivan Sache, 24 April 2001


Cercle de la Voile d'Angers

[CV Angers]

Burgee of CVA - Image by Jorge Candeias, 28 December 2004

The burgee of CVA (image) is blue with two red triangles placed along the hoist, the upper triangle being smaller, and the writing "CVA 1896" (the year of foundation) in white in the blue part.

Ivan Sache, 28 December 2004